Discussion
HELP!!!

I'm new to Read 180, just started last week with my students. They are taking the SRI test. One of my students scored a BR (33). Can someone tell me what this is/means, and what I do with this info?

Posted on: September 29 2009
Flag this discussion
Share:
10 Comments
  • AskDee

If you do decide that a re-test is in order, be sure to delete the "bad" test BEFORE you re-test the student.

SuzannePuccerella

The SRI should be implemented 3 times per year - once in the beginning, once mid-year, once at the end of year. I have asked the product manager how soon the test can be retaken. Is there a reason you want them to retake right away? THANKS!

SuzannePuccerella

Accroding to the product mananger - 30 days is the default and highly recomended setting for a student to retake the SRI. Thanks

AskDee

If you change the time between retests and test sooner than 30 days, the computer algorithm is set up to adjust the Lexile accordingly.  In other words, the computer thinks it the student's score already.  You won't see a Lexile score then that is very different from the test just given.  If you delete the "bad" test first, then the time between tests is not a factor.  I do not recommend retests unless there was an unusual circumstance.  For instance, if you have a student take the test while running a fever or if you know for certain that the student just hit keys and did not really take the test, those would be times to retest.  Never retest just because a student scored a low score.

How soon after the student takes the SRI can he/she retake the test?

SuzannePuccerella

As Deb said, BR stands for Beginning Reader. If you do not have the Scholastic Phonics Inventory or System 44, make sure this student is placed in level 1 of the READ 180 Software. You also might want to spend some time in small group with this student one-on-one if you can to help work through some of the skills they need the most help in. Good Luck!