Discussion
Should the Spec. Ed. teacher run her own READ 180 groups?

We are starting READ 180 at our school on Nov. 1.  The Spec. Ed. teacher wants all her Spec. Ed students put into the READ 180 classes (leaving her freed up to do what, I don't know).  Should she be running her own groups with her Spec. Ed. students?

Posted on: October 24 2010
Flag this discussion
Share:
10 Comments
  • I am a special education teacher who teaches Read 180 and have taught both (reg ed and spec ed mixed together & just special ed Read 180). I believe special ed Read 180 should definitely be its own class. These learners have diagnosed learning disabilities and the regular education students do not. There is a difference between reading below grade level and having a learning disability, which becomes evident when a student is answering questions in whole group and small group. Typically a regular ed or even advanced ESL student will dominate the class because they pick up much more quickly on concepts and retain information more easily. They become a huge fish in a small pond and the other fish tend to become even more invisible than they might feel already. If the regular ed teacher suspects his/her Read 180 students have undiagnosed learning disabilities, s/he might want to refer the student to the Child Study Team for testing. 

I think it is appropriate to have her students in Read 180 but she should be in the classroom to provide that support so it would be a collaborative model.  Even if all of her students are enrolled in Read 180, that does not necessarily mean they will all be in the same group for rotations.  She should be there to provide support and she needs to consider what is written in the IEP as far as what services the students receive and for what percentage of the day.

sinners