Discussion
Spelling Zone help

I have kids who are stuck in the spelling zone - how can I help them? Is there a master list of spelling zone words somewhere?

Posted on: April 22 2010
Flag this discussion
Share:
14 Comments
  • Has your technology dept applied the 1.9 patch for READ 180? There was an issue, but the patch seems to fix the problem. Debbie

I did print the Spelling Zone report - the majority of the words are listed under Words I Learned to Spell - does that not mean they've mastered them? The student only has 3 words listed under Words I'm Studying This Week. I'm also checking on the 1.9 patch...

profile photo

Click on the individual student in the reports for Read 180. Then choose the Student Spelling Zone Report. It will print out not only new words but words they need to work on. In small group you can have students work on their individualized spelling words for extra practice.

you may want to try to change the screen background color, I did the alternate color scheme for 2 students with spelling zone trouble ( they also have dyslexia) and they do go through faster than before.  It may help them focus more.

I have to say that this has been an ongoing problem for some of my students. This is my 3rd year with the program and I find that some students are able to master the reading and word zones but remain 'stuck' in the spelling zone. We try all types of tricks and strategies but the problem persists. The kids have asked me to change levels for spelling zone! but of course we can't do that. But it is really a good point, that for some students spelling is an obstacle to success in the program.

Remind your students that the need to *look* at the screen before they hit ENTER. It's a basic tip, but one they easily forget. :)

Interesting-change the color? It's worth a try.

AskDee