Discussion
System 44 and Read 180

Can students who are already in Read 180 also work in system 44?

By mrsk
Posted on: April 14 2010
Flag this discussion
Share:
9 Comments
  • Thank you...I would love to hear how you implement the system 44. You are very lucky that your district bought you the System 44. It is very expensive. Did you get all of the 20 licenses? Also, did you ask for the system 44 or did your administrator order it for you. I am an elementary special ed teacher. I run the Read 180 for the special ed students in my school and love it. Joy

yes they can. I just recieved the boxes for System 44 for my Read 180 room to help those students struggling to make progress in read 180. any student with a lexile under 600 is to be tested with the SPI to determine if they need the phonemic awareness remediation from system 44

How does that work? Do they still use the R book and the instructional software from Read 180. How is the System 44 implemented in the program? I have several students that are doing well with the Read 180, but who have lexiles under 600 and would benefit from the phonics of System 44. Would I order the whole System 44 or is there a seperate package for remediation. THANK YOU SO MUCH! Joy

I am very excited to hear about how your students do with the System 44. Are you going to have them work in System 44 and Read 180 ? I am hoping that if we do get the System 44 that the students can work in both. Joy

I have about 10 boxes to unpack and a whole lot of reading to do this weekend to see how to integrate the 2 systems together.  looking through some of the stuff today, I saw bags of letter/blends; it reminds me a bit of wilson.  there were workbooks as well as separate books and audiobooks.  I also know there is separate software. Hopefully,  I will understand more from my anticipated crash course this weekend

AskDee