Discussion
System 44 and Newcomer Students

Hello all, My name is Greta, I am a Teacher on Special Assignment, working with the English Learner department in my school district. I have a question: Has anyone used System 44 with Newcomer students, grades 4-6, with CELDT levels of 1-2 (Beginning-Early Intermediate)? Newcomer students are those who are new to the U.S. schools (less than 12 months). If you have or are using System 44 with this student population, I would very much like to know how it is working out for you. Thanks!

Posted on: February 01 2010
Flag this discussion
Share:
7 Comments
  • Hello Greta, I teach ELL in high school.  I am currently teaching two System 44 classes for high school ELL students.   I am not using System 44  with my very beginning newcomers.  I think they need to be able to understand what is being said on the software program as well as understand the books and teacher instruction.  However, I probably have some  students who qualify as early intermediate that have been able to use the program.  Their comprehension scores are lower and they are moving slower through the program, but it is definitely helping them.   Cindy

I have not seen or heard about System 44. Is it better for ELL students than diving into the READ 180 Stage B Curriculum?

SuzannePuccerella