Discussion
Success with Dyslexic Students?

This is my first year of read 180 and I teach all special education students.  I have one student who is dyslexic.  Has anyone had success with helping students with this disability improve in their reading skills?  Currently this student has scored a zero on two SRI tests and struggles with the computer software on level one.  I use a variety of DI to help this student be successful in whole/small group and the reading station.

Just wondering if any particular strategy has been helpful for anyone else.

Thanks - 

Posted on: December 16 2009
Flag this discussion
Share:
7 Comments
  • AskDee

In addition to changing the color scheme, you could print the Spelling Zone Report and the Word Zone Report for this student every few days.  That way the student could concentrate on his particular study words at that time. 

AskDee

Something else to think about trying is altering the color scheme.  Sometimes changing the colors helps dyslexic students.  This can be done in SAM READ 180 Settings. Also, I agree with Debbie that this student may need more basic work than READ 180.  If you do not have access to System 44, think about using the phonics and phonemic awareness lessons you find in your RDI books.

Many of our high schoolers get slowed down by the spelling zone-- we have them keep their own booklets next to them to write down their problem words-- can go as elaborate as making their own "problem word dictionaries"-- then refer to them when they go through the zone.  If we let them linger too long on their spelling woes, they lose interest in the whole program, because they never get through a segment.