Discussion
AskDee
Tips for New READ 180 Teachers

Think back to your first year teaching READ 180.  What is the one thing that you wish you knew then that you know now?

By AskDee
Posted on: September 04 2009
Flag this discussion
Share:
26 Comments
  • Read 180 teachers may tend to start out running Small Group by having the students simply work through the pages in the rBook; however, we need the rBook to be just a starting point. Teachers can find outside reading passages that relate to the current Workshop's topic and that engage the different groups of students at the levels where they can really learn. I do use the topic and focus of each Workshop, augmenting them with high-interest reading passages. I have learned to keep a notebook of lessons that have worked well so that I can go back to them.

This is my first year with READ180, but the two things I wish I knew at the beginning are the importance of stressing reading within the Targeted Reading Range during Independent Reading rotation and having a readiness check list for the students wanting to take a Reading Counts Quiz.  At the beginning of the year I told the kids they could read books from levels 1 +2.  Part of that was because our computers were delayed by 2 months.  Consequently we were running only two rotations and they were reading books without knowing their Lexile Level.  The kids would finish a book and ask to take a quiz. I would ask if they had completed the GO and QW and of course, they said, "Yes!"  Needless to say quite a few RCQ's were failed.  I now have a procedure in place where the kids have to complete the GO and QW, submit them for review, and wait to be given a Reading Counts Quiz Ticket.  I look at the GO and QW, check the answers, and give them a Ticket only if it seems they have the gist of the book down.  This cuts down on students interrupting small group to ask if they can take a quiz, as well as establishing student accountability for the GO and QW's.